Trade and Gender: What does the new TPPA mean for women in developing countries?

TP_G&T WEB_001

The CPTPP, or TPPA-11 as it has been nicknamed, was signed on March 8, 2018 in Chile with the remaining original members of the TPPA bar the US: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam. It will come into force when six of its signatories complete domestic ratification procedures, which could be as soon as the end of 2018. This paper comes at a critical time as more developing countries outside the partnership are looking to join the CPTPP. It aims to analyse the current literature to explore how the CPTPP will likely impact women in the partnerships’ developing country members.

Other Formats:

Share publication:


Dhivya Kanagasingam